Andy Penn named Australia's top tweeting CEO


By Dylan Bushell-Embling
Thursday, 14 July, 2016


Andy Penn named Australia's top tweeting CEO

Telstra CEO Andy Penn has been named by KPMG as the top Australian business leader paving the way on social media via Twitter.

Penn heads KPMG Australia’s Top 20 Twitter Power list, which also includes top executives from other major corporations, sports, media, technology and the not-for-profit sector.

Tweeting executives were evaluated for their ability to effectively share their messages and create valuable connections for their organisations.

The list was based on a review of quantitative and qualitative data from the Twitter accounts of Australian corporate leaders collated between 1 January and 10 May. To be eligible, accounts had to be from a CEO, managing director or chairperson at an Australian-based organisation or national division.

“Social media, and Twitter in particular, has given a megaphone to business leaders, a platform that previously did not exist for them to express their point of view. Conversely, it has also placed the leaders at the coalface of customer discussions, giving a completely unvarnished (and in some instances painful) direct perspective on how their organisation is faring in the eyes of the customer,” commented James Griffin, director of KPMG Social Media Intelligence.

“As more businesses utilise social channels for business purposes, however, it can be said that the risk of not being on social media today outweighs the risk of being on it.”

To make effective use of social platforms, Twitter and KPMG recommend that business leaders share their voice and give public insight into the person behind the CEO role. Executives should feel free to add their perspectives about their industry, and give public shoutouts to employees, businesses, partners or clients.

The top 20 list comprises:

1. Andy Penn, CEO, Telstra — @andy_penn

2. Jason Killens, CEO, SA Ambulance — @jasonkillens

3. Holly Ransom,CEO, Emergent — @hollyransom

4. Kon Karapanagiotidis, CEO, Asylum Seeker Resource Centre — @kon__k

5. Mark Woodland, CEO, Myxplor — @markawoodland

6. Brendon Gale, CEO, Richmond Football Club — @brendongale25

7. Frank Quinlan, CEO, Mental Health Australia — @frankgquinlan

8. Pip Marlow, MD, Microsoft Australia — @pipms

9. Michael Ebeid, MD, SBS — @michaelebeid

10. Andrew Fagan, CEO, Adelaide Football Club — @fages1

11. Todd Greenberg, CEO, NRL — @todd_greenberg

12. Michael Carr-Gregg – MD, The Young and Well Cooperative Research Centre — @mcg58

13. Mark Bouris, chair, Yellow Brick Road — @markbouris

14. Tony Pignata, CEO, Sydney Football Club (A-League) — @tpignata9

15. Martin Dougiamas, CEO, Moodle — @moodler

16. Deidre Willmott, CEO, WA Chamber of Commerce and Industry — @cci_ceo

17. Tim Costello, CEO, World Vision Australia — @timcostello

18. Cassandra Goldie, CEO, ACOSS — @cassandragoldi

19. Jan Owen, CEO, Federation for Young Australians — @JanOwenAM

20. Julian Plummer, MD, Midwinter — @julian_plummer

Image courtesy of Esther Vargas under CC

Related Articles

Optus profit slumps 36.6% in Q2

Optus has blamed the suspension of nbn migration payments and workforce restructuring charges for...

My Health Record opt-out rush crashes hotline

An influx of calls to the My Health Record hotline seeking to opt out of the system before next...

Afterpay CEO named Entrepreneur of the Year

CEO and co-founder of Afterpay, Nick Molnar, has won the 2018 NSW ICT Entrepreneur of the Year...


  • All content Copyright © 2018 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd