Telecoms ombudsman reshuffles board structure

Thursday, 27 February, 2014


The Telecommunications Industry Ombudsman (TIO) yesterday voted to move from a separate board and council structure to having only a single board of directors.

According to the TIO, the members of the new board “will streamline decision-making and provide greater oversight of the TIO by a single body”.

Patricia Faulkner AO will chair the new board. Faulkner is also chair of the National Health Performance Authority, Superpartners and Jesuit Social Services, and is deputy chair of St. Vincent’s Health Australia.

The new board will mostly comprise members of the previous board and council. It will consist of four directors with consumer experience, four directors with industry experience and two independent directors.

The only director on the new board who didn’t feature on either the council or the old board is independent director Philippa Smith AM. Smith also chairs Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ) and is a director of First State Super.

Related Articles

Tech Insight: Wayne Harper, Zebra Technologies

In our Tech Insights series, we speak with ICT leaders to get their view on what the year ahead...

Unified comms keeps companies connected

As more and more enterprises finally ditch the PABX for the latest in unified comms, the benefits...

Contact centres still important in the digital age

There are three key reasons why organisations with a contact centre should look to implement a...

  • All content Copyright © 2018 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd