WiT Awards winners announced

Tuesday, 05 September, 2017

WiT Awards winners announced

Two women have been recognised for their outstanding work in the tech industry at the 2017 WiT Awards in Brisbane.

Bernadette Hyland and Dr Carrie Hillyard are both leaders and experts in a field traditionally dominated by men.

“The panel were blown away by Bernadette Hyland and Dr Carrie Hillyard, and could not choose between them,” said Kristy Simpkin, co-president of WiT.

“Carrie and Bernadette are pioneers, challenging perceptions, pushing boundaries, driving innovation and achieving excellence.”

Hillyard is currently an angel investor and chairman of Fitgenes and FizzioFit, as well as deputy chairman of the Mater Medical Research Institute. She has commercialised products from laboratory bench to market and is an inventor of a number of patented technologies, including a novel two-minute test technology, which was applied to HIV and Hepatitis B.

Hyland, who was a founding member of WiT, has over 20 years’ experience deploying enterprise data solutions in financial services, healthcare and federal governments in Australia and the US.

Their award was presented by Leeanne Enoch, Minister for Innovation, Science and the Digital Economy and Minister for Small Business.

Meanwhile, Shark Tank investor and River City Labs Founder Steve Baxter presented the entrepreneurial start-up award to Faith Rees, co-founder and CEO of SixPivot. Rees has a long-standing history in the IT industry spanning 18 years and a string of reputable awards to her name.

Data#3 took out the coveted corporate employer of choice for its commitment to equality, flexible working conditions, professional development and innovative approaches to engaging and rewarding staff.

Image courtesy of Paul Neil Photography.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

Related News

Square sets up Melbourne engineering hub

Melbourne will be home to Square's first engineering hub outside of North America.

Queensland hosts robotics conference

The International Conference on Robotics and Automation has commenced in Brisbane.

Govt appoints interim Data Standards body chair

Former IBM Australia managing director Andrew Stevens has been named Interim Chair of the...

  • All content Copyright © 2018 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd